Mr. Hyperbole's Blog

Napa Valley’s Worst Waiter Chapter 2: | November 19, 2009

Yesterday I was still the kinda sorta manager at the restaurant. The person replacing me doesn’t start until Friday.

When I walked into the restaurant last night, Mr. Poopyhead  says hello. Then he immediately asks to talk to me. That can only mean one thing – impending:

Doom.
Dooom
Dooooooom
DOOOOOOOOM
DOOOOOOOOOOOOM!
Horrible 2012-Mayan-esq DooOOOoooOOoooOOOoooOOOoooOOooM!

Mr. PH’s request to chat with me is similar to the feeling that comes over a teenage boy caught throwing a rotten tomato against the blackboard in U.S. History I Class and being sent down to the pot-marked ashen-faced Ichabod Crane look-a-like mean as sin Vice Principal of Discipline’s office.

Doom. I am doomed.

As Mr. PH begins his chat with me, something about a schedule and how I did it all wrong, I have trouble concentrating on his words. I only see lips flapping in the air while I listen to Frank Sinatra crooning in the background on the restaurant’s music system. My brain is apparently in defense mechanism mode, as it wafts in and out of reality trying to prevent me from experiencing my reoccurring hallucination of seeing a giant fork stuck in Mr. PH’s foot. Thinking of a giant fork stuck in his foot for some reason has a Zen-like calming effect on me. I don’t know why.

Mr. PH is continuing to talk, and my giant fork in foot vision is fading, so I need to focus – focus – FOCUS on what he is trying to tell me! Pay attention Dave, this could be serious, after all you could get demoted again – if is possible to get any lower in the restaurant’s food chain – pun intended. As my head starts to clear, I realize Mr. PH is discussing something we did together last Sunday.

Ah, I remember now. Last Sunday Mr. PH told me to make out a next weeks waiter and buser schedule. He told me to do this right before he marched off to fire one of our waiters for violating waiter rule #6,253 from section 14 found on paragraph three in our bi-weekly updated employee handbook.

As he goose-stepped away to fire the waiter, he looked at me and pointed to a piece of paper on the bar. This paper, written in his chicken scratch, (which would make any prescription writing Doctor proud) is apparently next weeks waiter schedule and I am to enter it into the computer. I can’t read most of his writing but lo and behold – one item does catch my attention:

Amanda: Restaurant Manager -works Monday Tuesday Friday Saturday and Sunday

My name no longer says “Manager.” It says waiter.

Hmmmm. I’m not a rocket scientist but this does raise an eyebrow considering this is news to me!!!!!!!!!.

The restaurant gets busy and a few hours go by before we can continue with translating his Rosetta Stone of waiter schedules. So for two hours I am wondering what is going on. Who is Amanda and … oh please God please make her nice and cute and skinny (they don’t call me Shallow Dave for nothing you know). Finally Mr. PH and I work on the schedule again and when we finish he nonchalantly says:

“… oh by the way, I hired a new manager and you are now the waiter – except for Wednesday and Thursday on her nights off.”

Let’s look up in the dictionary the word “insensitive”
Whoa it says: See Mr. Poopyhead!

That was how Sunday night ended up. Mr. PH finally went home and I stayed to close the restaurant wondering aloud if I’m crazy or what.

You may be asking (or not) what did Mr. PH want to talk to me about immediately last night? Apparently there was a mistake made on the schedule I printed up. You know, the schedule he wrote and I copied into the computer and then printed it. But this error was not Mr. PH’s fault.

No waaaaaaaaay! Of course not!

It was my fault, he tells me, for not catching the (his) error because that is what a good manager would have done.

Oye vey es mere.

Friday will be my 1st first night as a full time waiter. I have never taken a party with more then four people at a table. I have never waited on more then two tables at time. Saturday we are busy and I already have a party of eight and two parties of six and my section has ten tables in it.

This weekend could get …. oh who am I kidding …. this weekend will get ugly. Stay tuned.

Dave the Waiter


4 Comments »

  1. Dave my boy you missed your calling. I am still laughing. If need be I will come up there and sneak up on Mr.PH in the hallway and you know what happens after that. It’ll kinda be like leanin on the guy but a little different. Keep up the good work
    Doug

    Comment by Douglas Lipkin — November 23, 2009 @ 1:25 am

  2. My only desire on this blog is to make people laugh. I honestly don’t dislike Mr. Poopyhead. He can be okay on numerous occasions so I hear. I just find my situation working with him to be comical. It beats being mad.

    Comment by Mr. Hyperbole's Blog — November 20, 2009 @ 10:19 pm

  3. OY VEY, David, I think you should fill his car up with manure (poop) during your shift so he goes home feeling like you will after your waiter shift.
    what an asshole, I will be thinking of you.

    Keep us tuned in.

    Hugs,

    Kathy

    Comment by Katharine Gracey — November 20, 2009 @ 6:41 pm

  4. OMG!!!!!!! This is horrible!!!! How much more can you take!? Thank god for your sense of humor in such troubled times that such a thing could happen!!!!!
    Love you,
    Sooz

    Comment by Suzy — November 19, 2009 @ 11:53 pm


Leave a comment

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other subscribers
    November 2009
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30